Flag of United States
13 equal horizontal stripes of red (top and bottom) alternating with white;
there is a blue rectangle in the upper hoist-side corner
bearing 50 small, white, five-pointed stars
arranged in 9 offset horizontal rows of 6 stars (top and bottom)
alternating with rows of 5 stars;
the 50 stars represent the 50 states,
the 13 stripes represent the 13 original colonies; known as Old Glory;
the design and colors have been the basis for a number of other flags,
including Chile, Liberia, Malaysia, and Puerto Rico
CIA. The World Factbook 2002.